That time I used my super powers to save a kid in trouble…

I’m a HUGE fan of superheroes and more of a DC guy than Marvel. DC includes members of the Justice League – Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Flash, Green Lantern, and Aquaman. The Marvel universe consists of Spider-Man, The Avengers, X-Men, etc.

Junior wanted to take me to the movies to see Wonder Woman. Gal Gadot is awesome as Princess Diana of Themyscira by the way. I had three takeaways from the film:

  1. Batman is useless. Sorry, not sorry.
  2. Superman didn’t have to die in Batman vs. Superman. Wonder Woman could have beaten the monster Doomsday all by herself.
  3. Wonder Woman’s ending monologue from the film:

“I used to want to save the world. To end war and bring peace to mankind; but then I glimpsed the darkness that lives within their light. I learned that inside every one of them, there will always be both. The choice each must make for themselves – something no hero will ever defeat. And now I know…that only love can truly save the world. So now I stay, I fight, and I give – for the world I know can be. This is my mission. Forever.”

Unbeknownst to me, the power Wonder Woman spoke of, the power of love, would be put to the test as soon as the movie was over. We pick up our adventure in progress…

Junior had to make a pit stop before we left the theater. As I waited, I noticed a young girl sitting on a bench crying and holding her phone. I overheard her arguing with her mom over the fact that she couldn’t get a ride home.

I introduced myself and Junior and asked what was wrong. The 16-year-old said she’d been there for hours and no one would come to get her. Her mom’s boyfriend was supposed to come, but he stopped answering his phone.

I told her we wouldn’t leave her alone. She tried her mom’s boyfriend one more time and he said he was on his way. Before leaving, I gave her my business card and said if her situation changed, call my cell and I’d get her an Uber.

Junior and I were almost home and my phone rang. Mom’s boyfriend had changed his mind. The girl was nearly hysterical because the theater was about to close.

I kept my end of the bargain and figured out how to order an Uber when I’m not the one being picked up. I tracked her trip home and everything worked out. I’ve called her mom twice and the lady hasn’t called me back. She probably won’t.

As upset as I was with the mom and boyfriend, I’m glad we were there. That child would’ve gotten in the car with anybody last night. She was desperate to get home.

As a dad, I can’t imagine letting my kid go somewhere when I don’t have the means to get her home. And even though mine was safe with me, I also can’t imagine walking away from a kid who needs help.

What on Earth does this have to do with sportsmanship? Everything. Junior is on my team. It’s easy to take care of those on your own team. Junior and I were among the last to leave the Wonder Woman showing Saturday night because we thought there would be a post-credits scene.

This means everyone else who was in the theater with us walked past the young girl as she cried. Everyone who went in and out of the restroom that Junior used ignored her cries. Everyone who walked into and out of every other movie in that section of the theater with their popcorn and candy ignored her cries.

In their defense, no one was obligated to help her. It wasn’t their fault the adults in her life left her twisting in the wind. I didn’t walk away, though. I couldn’t. I can’t walk away from a kid in trouble. And one day, when my Junior is captain of her own team, she will extend her hand and help someone who needs it.

Looks like Wonder Woman was right. Love can save the world.

 

One thought on “That time I used my super powers to save a kid in trouble…

Leave a Reply

