Why I want the Cubs to win the World Series

cards_cubs1

I want the Chicago Cubs to win the World Series.

Wait, what?! Yes, I’m from St. Louis. Yes, I’m a St. Louis Cardinals fan through and through. They will forever be my team.

I know I’m supposed to hate the Cubbies, but I don’t. I never have. There’s this contrived rivalry between the cities and franchises that really only exists in our heads.

Rivals are supposed to be the opponents capable of stopping you at a moment’s notice. No matter who wears the uniform, there’s something about that team which makes every game a challenge. You can throw the records out the window.

Michigan-Ohio State, Steelers-Ravens, Yankees-Red Sox and Celtics-Lakers are just a few examples of time-tested rivalries. Conversely, the St. Louis Cardinals have won 11 World Series Championships. The Cubs have won two; the last being in 1908.

The Cubs really haven’t stopped the Cardinals from doing anything. They won a playoff series against St. Louis in 2015. Other than that, the Cardinals have been decorating the National League’s penthouse while the Cubs were sweeping the basement.

Everyone in my family has a favorite Cardinals World Series squad. Whether it’s my father-in-law and the ’67 team, my wife and the ’82 team, me in ’06 or my daughter in ’11, we all have Redbird memories we can call our own.

But man, 1908 was so long ago. The people who are still alive from that year are more of a story than the Cubs championship team.

For some deeper perspective on how long ago that was, here are three factoids about 1908 you may not hear on the World Series broadcast:

  1. A ball dropped for the first time in New York City’s Times Square on New Year’s Day.
  2. Mother’s Day was celebrated for the first time.
  3. The flag only had 46 stars. Arizona, New Mexico, Alaska and Hawaii weren’t states yet.

The Cubs need this win. Their fans, young and old, need it. No one wins forever and no one should lose forever. A Cubs win will finally make St. Louis vs. Chicago a true on-field rivalry and get those blasted Yankees and Red Sox off my TV every Sunday night in the summer!

In the words of Harry Caray, “Let’s root, root, root for the Cubbies. If they don’t win, it’s a shame…”

 

 

Leave a Reply

