Sportsmanship: First Class

I know you’re all out there, but sometimes it feels like I’m talking to myself.  You know, me and my laptop just pecking away – hoping and praying that someone is reading, watching, or listening.  If we could get one person to change his behavior, then maybe all of this effort won’t go to waste.  Just when I start to feel like this, I get a signal…a sign if you will that I’m not alone.  Plenty of people care about youth sports and the effect they have on our young people and society as a whole.  I’ll compare us to the X-Men, of comic book and movie fame.

For those who don’t know the backstory, the X-Men are a team of superheroes with a variety of special powers.  Some are strong, some are fast, others have telepathic powers.  You get the picture.  Individually, they were called mutants or “freaks” and shunned from society.  However, when they joined forces, they became an unstoppable force for good – protecting the very people who once treated them as outcasts.  Those of us who write about sportsmanship, sports parenting, and the like can feel like outcasts.  We often ask ourselves, “Am I the only one who sees this stuff?”  No, we’re not.  And that’s why I’m writing today’s post.

Ladies and gentlemen, I introduce to some and present to others, Ms. Aisha Sultan.  Aisha is the Home and Family Editor at the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and writes the Parents Talk Back column for the paper.  After reading her latest column, Denial runs deep among sports parents, it’s clear that she gets it and has a lot of valuable information for sports parents.  I encourage you to read it for yourself and join in the conversation.  We’re both on Twitter for those who want to continue the dialogue.  I’m at www.twitter.com/TheRealBigSol.  Once you’re there, Aisha’s handle is @AishaS. Until next time…

Be a Good Sport!

-Sol

Leave a Reply

