Shameless Self-Promotion

I usually rail against shameless self-promotion and self-indulgent behavior on this blog, but today I can’t help myself.  My wife, Madelyn is the communications director for the local affiliate of the American Heart Association.  Her organization has partnered with the NFL on the Play 60 Challenge, which encourages kids to get 60 minutes of physical activity everyday.  Yesterday was a strange day in the Alexander family.  We received a call from my daughter’s school at 6 a.m.  School was canceled due to a power outage.  Both Madelyn and I have projects at work that prohibited us from taking the day off.  So, we decided on a split schedule.  Junior would go with me in the morning and go with Mommy in the afternoon. 

My half of the day was pretty uneventful.  Junior sat at my desk and wrote invitations to a dress-up party at my house.  She swears I told her she could have it, but I was working and wasn’t really listening.  Parents, be sure to always pay attention when kids ask you things.  But, I digress.  We went to lunch at 11:30 and met Mommy at the pre-determined exchange spot.  Madelyn had a Play 60 event going on at the Russell Training Center; otherwise known as Rams Park.  Rams players took Junior and a class from Valley Park Middle School through their paces.  The pictures below tell the story.

It was a great day at Rams Park and as you might imagine, I am flashing a big kool-aid smile while writing this. Whether or not your kid gets to exercise at an NFL training facility, let’s make sure they get 60 minutes of physical activity everyday.  Until next time…

Be a Good Sport!

-Sol

One thought on “Shameless Self-Promotion

Leave a Reply

